Skip to main content


Ashtanga Yoga is the original (first) Vinyasa style of yoga practice. The physical practice consists of a series of asanas performed in the same order, for the same number of breaths every day (ideally with the sunrise). See the links below for more information on Ashtanga (literally, 8-limbed) Yoga:

Ashtanga Yoga Background

Ashtanga Primary Series Chart

Ashtanga Intermediate Series Chart

Ashtanga Primary Series Asanas and Chants

Visit for more resources, including Ebooks and videos.