Skip to main content

The Eight Limbs

There are eight (8) “limbs” or parts of the practice of yoga:

  1. Yama: five rules or ethical guidelines that govern how you act towards others
  2. Niyama: five rules or ethnical guidelines that govern your internal thoughts and actions
  3. Asana: poses or postures (practiced to prepare the body for meditation)
  4. Pranayama: breathing techniques or breath control (to prepare the body for meditation)
  5. Pratyahara: withdrawal of the senses (achieved through meditation)
  6. Dharana: inner concentration (achieved through meditation)
  7. Dhyana: devotion to Self (acheieved through meditation)
  8. Samadhi: pure Self or enlightenment